GSWS Undergraduate Award Winners

May 16, 2022

GSWS/FQT wish to congratulate the winners of this year's Carroll Smith-Rosenberg and Lynda Hart awards.

The Carroll Smith-Rosenberg Senior Thesis Award in Women's Studies honors a superior senior thesis paper in the field of Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies. The prize is named in honor of distinguished historian Carroll Smith-Rosenberg, a founder of the Women's Studies Program at Penn.

The Lynda Hart Undergraduate Award in Sexuality Studies honors a senior thesis or seminar/course paper in the field of LGBTQ Studies. Awarded in memory of Lynda Hart, Professor of English at Penn and groundbreaking scholar in feminist performance studies and queer theory, the prize recognizes original, rigorous scholarship on gender and sexuality by a Penn undergraduate in any field.

Carroll-Smith Rosenberg 

Zarina Iman, On the Tails of The Trade: Enslaved Women, Slave Traders, and the Households They Shared (History)  

Honorable Mention: 
Sarah Finkelstein, Rediscovering a Space for Caregiving in Professional Medicine: A History of Modern Doula Care, Professionalization, and Caregiving(Health and Societies) 

Lynda Hart  

Sudeep Bhargava, Constructing a Queer Asian/Pacific Islander Archive: Network-Building in Community Organizing (Communication) 

Honorable Mention: 
Max Kanner, The Closet’s Toll: Health Disparities in Queer Adolescents from Stress and Stigma (GSWS/PPE) 


Twitter Updates